New York Introduces Bill to Expand Crossbow Hunting

Last week, Assembly Bill 9914 was introduced. This legislation expands the time available for hunting with a crossbow in Wyoming County by permitting hunting both big and small game with a crossbow during the entire archery season. Under current law, crossbows are permitted only during the last 14 days of archery season in the southern zone and the last 10 days in the northern zone.

“This legislation allows for the expansion of hunting opportunities,” said Dillon Barto, manager of state services at the Sportsmen’s Alliance. “Crossbows allow those with disabilities to hunt longer and can be an entry point for new hunters.”

New York sportsmen and woman should contact members of the Assembly Environmental Conservation Committee to voice their opinion on the bill:

Chairman Steve Englebright: EngleS@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Thomas J. Abinanti: http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Thomas-J-Abinanti/contact

Assembly Member Didi Barrett: http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Didi-Barrett/contact

Assembly Member Keith Brown: brownk@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Chris Burdick: burdickc@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Patrick Burke: burkep@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Robert C. Carroll: CarrollR@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member William Colton: http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/William-Colton/contact/

Assembly Member Steven Cymbrowitz: http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Steven-Cymbrowitz/contact

Assembly Member Michael Durso: dursom@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Harvey Epstein: epsteinh@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Patricia A. Fahy: FahyP@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Deborah J. Glick: http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Deborah-J-Glick/contact/

Assembly Member Jessica Gonzalez-Rojas: gonzalezrojasj@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Judy Griffin: griffinj@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Aileen M. Gunther: http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Aileen-M-Gunther/contact

Assembly Member Anna Kelles: kellesa@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member John Lemondes: lemondesj@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Jennifer Lunsford: lunsfordj@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Brian Manktelow: manktelowb@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Karen McMahon: mcmahonk@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Brian D. Miller: millerb@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Daniel J. O’Donnell: http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Daniel-J-O%27Donnell/contact/

Assembly Member Steven Otis: OtisS@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Amanda Septimo: septimoa@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Matthew Simpson: SimpsonM@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Robert Smullen: smullenr@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Chris Tague: taguec@nyassembly.gov

Assembly Member Fred W. Thiele: http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/Fred-W-Thiele-Jr/contact

Assembly Member Jaime R. Williams: williamsja@nyassembly.gov

About the Sportsmen’s Alliance: The Sportsmen’s Alliance protects and defends America’s wildlife conservation programs and the pursuits – hunting, fishing and trapping – that generate the money to pay for them. Sportsmen’s Alliance Foundation is responsible for public education, legal defense and research.  Its mission is accomplished through several distinct programs coordinated to provide the most complete defense capability possible. Stay connected to Sportsmen’s Alliance: OnlineFacebookTwitter and Instagram.